Showing posts with label trip hop. Show all posts
Showing posts with label trip hop. Show all posts

Sunday, November 1, 2015

De la Abesh - Addis [1995] [ethiopia]


                        R   E   U   P   L   O   A   D   

Soul, Funk, Hip-Hop & Rap

01. De La Abesh - Cheb (4:40)
02. De La Abesh - Xirak's Tizita Jam (5:44)
03. De La Abesh - Saynega (4:41)
04. De La Abesh - De'laaw (6:37)
05. De La Abesh - Ye-ge'le (4:13)
06. De La Abesh - Ye'nema (6:19)
07. De La Abesh - Sebebe (5:29)
08. De La Abesh - Addis pt 1 & 2 (8:21)
09. De La Abesh - De La Abesh pt 1 (5:12)
10. De La Abesh - Sela (4:23)

Wednesday, July 9, 2014

Oh No - Dr. No's Ethiopium [2009]

                                   R  E  U  P  L  O  A  D   

       Following in the tradition of Dr. No's Oxperiment, Oh No delves headfirst into an album inspired by and sampled from rare 60's and 70's Ethiopian funk, jazz, folk, soul and psychedelic rock

          He calls it Ethiopium. Previous descriptions used to describe Oh No's adventures into "never-sampled-before" territory apply - adventurousexoticsmartfun, and thrilling.

       Even if you've never heard an instrument tuned to the qenet scale before, even if you're more into ballads than you are tezeta's, Oh No's transformative effect on his source material will blow you away in its otherworldy funkiness.

36 tracks. 52 minutes of delights .. enjoy ...

Friday, February 14, 2014

Dub Colossus - Rockers Meet Addis Uptown EP [2010] + bonus

   R   E   U   P   L   O   A   D   

Dub Colossus - Shegye Shegitu (Blue Nile Mix)

1. Dub Colossus - Uptown Top Ranking (Radio Edit) (4:18)
2. Dub Colossus - Guragigna (5:14)
3. Dub Colossus - Medina (3:08)
4. Dub Colossus - Selemi  (6:45)
5. Dub Colossus - Uptown Top Ranking (Full Mix) (5:02) 
6. Dub Colossus & Sintayehu ** - Krems '09 VI 25 -A Town Called Addis– IX (16:52)
7. Dub Colossus & Sintayehu ** - Krems '09 VI 25 -A Town Called Addis– X (5:37)

**Sintayehu Zenebe | vocals
    Teremage Woretaw | vocals, mesenko
    Samuel Yirga Mitiku | keyboards
    Michael Riley | percussions

Thursday, February 13, 2014

Dub Colossus - Dub Me Tender [2012]

Original source : AfroCubanLatinJazz

   R   E   U   P   L   O   A   D   

01. Dub Colossus - Dub in a Time of Cholera (4:48)
02. Dub Colossus - Dub Me Tender [Ezana Mix] (4:11)
03. Dub Colossus - Satta Massagana [Yeka Dub] (3:49)
04. Dub Colossus - I'm in Dub With a German Filmstar (4:25)
05. Dub Colossus - Falling in Dub Again (4:15)
06. Dub Colossus - Uptown Top Ranking [Negus Dub] (3:59)
07. Dub Colossus - Stop! In the Name of Dub (3:57)
08. Dub Colossus - This is Not a Dub Song (5:22)
09. Dub Colossus - Crazy in Dub (5:27)
10. Dub Colossus - I Dub the Sound of Breaking Glass (5:58)
11. Dub Colossus - What Time is Dub (3:02)
12. Dub Colossus - Living in the Dub of the Common People (4:01)
13. Dub Colossus - It’s Friday I’m in Dub (4:13)
14. Dub Colossus - Bizarre Dub Triangle (4:22)

Tuesday, July 16, 2013

Clashing Egos feat. Minyeshu Kifle - Aminjig Nebere [I Trusted You] [2004]

                         R   E   U   P   L   O   A   D   

        Minyeshu Kifle Tedla was born in the city of Dire Dawa in the east of Ethiopia. During her childhood she moved to Addis Ababa and at the age of 17 she joined the leading ‘National Theatre’ of Ethiopia. Here she developed her artistic multi talents as a singer, dancer, producer and choreographer. With the crème de la crème of the Ethiopian music scene she toured the world around - within 4 month over more than 35 countries - and performed at the greatest Ethiopian music and dance production ever: ‘People to People’. 

     She joined the stage with famous Ethiopian musical icons such as Mulatu Astatke and singers Mahmoud Ahmed, Tilahun Gessesse, Bizunesh Bekele and many more. To widespread her wings as an artistic multi talent she performed in Ethiopian cinema as well, playing a leading role as an actress in the movie ‘Senait’

       Clashing Egos  successfully blend the sound of Mo' Wax-like trip hop grooves and exotic sounds with the voices of Darryll-Ann frontman Jelle Paulusma, British singer Kirsty Hawkshaw and Ethiopian vocalist Minyeshu Kifle. 

       Especially the latter does an impressive performance on the melancholic Afro tune 'Aminjig Nebere (I Trusted You)'. The album reveals itself as a steady grower, so don't trust your initial judgment and certainly use a headset when listening to it because it's truly a sound experrience. "We wanted to make a beautiful album’. It’s much more than just that, it's electronic soulmusic for the 21st century.